On January 1, 2017, the minimum wage in Massachusetts will increase to $11.00 per hour. This increase will occur as a result of the minimum wage increase passed by the Massachusetts Legislature in July of 2014.
Under the new law, all employees in Massachusetts must be paid a minimum of $11.00 per hour, including tipped employees. Tipped employees (who are defined as employees who earn more than $20 per month in tips) must be paid a minimum of $3.75 per hour plus tips. By combining the minimum wage and the tips earned these employees must make at least $11.00 per hour. If they do not earn $11.00 per hour, their employer is responsible for making up the difference.
Massachusetts employers are required to prominently display a number of workplace rights posters including the Massachusetts Wage & Hour poster provided by the Attorney General of Massachusetts. This poster provides easy-to-read information on the laws surrounding minimum wage, tips, sick leave and overtime. If you do not already have your workplace rights poster with the updated minimum wage information, we encourage you to go to the website for the office of the Attorney General of Massachusetts to request your posters. These preprinted posters are available in English, Spanish, Portuguese, Haitian Creole, Chinese, Khmer and Vietnamese. If you need a poster in a different language, several are available for employers to print directly from the website.
As an employer, it is extremely important for you to comply with the laws as soon as they go into effect. As a result, if you have any questions about this minimum wage increase or any other employment law question (including holiday pay, travel pay and overtime laws) we encourage you to contact the attorneys in our employment law group. We are here and happy to help.